Campaign update: Day 1

Yesterday we launched the Make the Equality Act Clear petition, calling on the government to clarify, with a legislative amendment, that sex means sex in the Equality Act 2010.

It got an amazing response. In less than 24 hours, 15,000 people signed the petition, and the number is continuing to rise fast.

By passing 10,000 signatures, we have guaranteed a short response from the government, and we are writing to Prime Minister Rishi Sunak and Minister for Women and Equalities Kemi Badenoch in advance of this.

The next stage is to push on to 100,000 signatures to get a parliamentary debate. If you haven’t signed yet do it now, and if you have, share the petition widely!

Who is signing?

There is now at least one signature from every constituency in the country, and over 100 in several. You can watch the constituency race in real time on petition mapper (or the hex version, which shows each constituency the same size).

This morning’s three top-ranked constituencies are all in Edinburgh, and there are eight Scottish constituencies in the top 25.

Many people are using this as an opportunity to send a message to their SNP, Labour, Lib Dem or Green MP that this is an issue that really matters to them. But of course we need Conservatives to hear this too.

Signature counts at 2022-11-03 09:00

1Deidre Brock MPEdinburgh North and Leith122SNP
2Tommy Sheppard MPEdinburgh East100SNP
3Ian Murray MPEdinburgh South100Labour
4Caroline Lucas MPBrighton, Pavilion98Green
5Rt Hon Keir Starmer MPHolborn and St Pancras98Labour
6Catherine West MPHornsey and Wood Green94Labour
7Daniel Zeichner MPCambridge90Labour
8Stephen Doughty MPCardiff South and Penarth82Labour
9Rt Hon Diane Abbott MPHackney North and Stoke Newington81Labour
10Kevin Brennan MPCardiff West80Labour
11Craig Whittaker MPCalder Valley79Conservative
12Thangam Debbonaire MPBristol West77Labour
13Joanna Cherry QC MPEdinburgh South West72SNP
14Rt Hon Jeremy Corbyn MPIslington North70Independent
15Kenny MacAskill MPEast Lothian69Alba
16Clive Lewis MPNorwich South67Labour
17Sarah Olney MPRichmond Park66Lib Dem
18Rt Hon David Lammy MPTottenham66Labour
19Brendan O’Hara MPArgyll and Bute64SNP
20Peter Kyle MPHove61Labour
21Christine Jardine MPEdinburgh West61Lib Dem
22Stewart Malcolm McDonald MPGlasgow South61SNP
23Wera Hobhouse MPBath60Lib Dem
24Layla Moran MPOxford West and Abingdon59Lib Dem
25Anthony Browne MPSouth Cambridgeshire58Conservative

Announcing a competition!

We are aiming to get to 100,000 signatures to prompt a debate in Parliament. And Sex Matters is going to bring the debate to wherever has managed to get the most signatures at the moment we reach that milestone, by holding a live Sex Matters event in that constituency.